APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 15 hours 4 min ago

Stars, Gas, and Dust Battle in the Carina Nebula

Wed, 08/16/2017 - 9:07am

Chaos reigns in the Carina Nebula where massive stars form and die. Chaos reigns in the Carina Nebula where massive stars form and die.


Charon Flyover from New Horizons

Tue, 08/15/2017 - 9:07am

What if you could fly over Pluto's moon Charon -- what might you see? What if you could fly over Pluto's moon Charon -- what might you see?


Detailed View of a Solar Eclipse Corona

Mon, 08/14/2017 - 9:07am

Only in the fleeting darkness of a total solar eclipse is the Only in the fleeting darkness of a total solar eclipse is the


A Day in the Life of a Human Sundial

Sun, 08/13/2017 - 9:07am

Have you ever wanted to be a gnomon? Have you ever wanted to be a gnomon?


A Total Solar Eclipse of Saros 145

Sat, 08/12/2017 - 9:07am

A darkened sky holds bright planet Venus, the New Moon in A darkened sky holds bright planet Venus, the New Moon in


Night of the Perseids

Fri, 08/11/2017 - 9:07am

Night of the Perseids Night of the Perseids


August's Lunar Eclipse

Thu, 08/10/2017 - 9:07am

August's Full Moon is framed in this sharp, August's Full Moon is framed in this sharp,


Density Waves in Saturns Rings from Cassini

Wed, 08/09/2017 - 9:07am

What causes the patterns in Saturn's rings?  What causes the patterns in Saturn's rings?


Spiral Galaxy NGC 1512: The Inner Ring

Tue, 08/08/2017 - 9:07am

Most galaxies don't have any rings -- why does this galaxy have two? Most galaxies don't have any rings -- why does this galaxy have two?


Milky Way and Exploding Meteor

Mon, 08/07/2017 - 9:07am

Next weekend the Next weekend the


Gravity s Grin

Sun, 08/06/2017 - 9:07am

Gravity s Grin Gravity s Grin


North North Temperate Zone Little Red Spot

Sat, 08/05/2017 - 9:07am

On July 11, the Juno spacecraft once again swung near On July 11, the Juno spacecraft once again swung near


Pelican Nebula Close Up

Fri, 08/04/2017 - 9:07am

The prominent ridge of emission featured in The prominent ridge of emission featured in


The Dust Monster in IC 1396

Thu, 08/03/2017 - 9:07am

The Dust Monster in IC 1396  The Dust Monster in IC 1396


Perseid Meteors over Turkey

Wed, 08/02/2017 - 9:07am

The Perseid Meteor Shower, usually the best meteor shower of the year, will peak late next week.   The Perseid Meteor Shower, usually the best meteor shower of the year, will peak late next week.


Pluto Flyover from New Horizons

Tue, 08/01/2017 - 9:07am

What if you could fly over Pluto -- what might you see? What if you could fly over Pluto -- what might you see?


A Total Eclipse at the End of the World

Mon, 07/31/2017 - 9:07am

Would you go to the end of the world to see a total eclipse of the Sun? Would you go to the end of the world to see a total eclipse of the Sun?


Aurora Slathers up the Sky

Sun, 07/30/2017 - 9:07am

Like salsa verde on your favorite burrito, a green Like salsa verde on your favorite burrito, a green


Noodle Mosaic of Saturn

Sat, 07/29/2017 - 9:07am

On April 26 the Cassini spacecraft swooped toward Saturn on On April 26 the Cassini spacecraft swooped toward Saturn on


A Sagittarius Triplet

Fri, 07/28/2017 - 9:07am

These three bright nebulae are often featured on telescopic tours of the These three bright nebulae are often featured on telescopic tours of the


Pages