APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 11 hours 1 min ago

Saturn near Opposition

Sun, 06/18/2017 - 9:07am

Saturn reached its 2017 opposition on June 16. Saturn reached its 2017 opposition on June 16.


Manhattan Moonrise

Sat, 06/17/2017 - 9:07am

Manhattan Moonrise Manhattan Moonrise


Red Sprites over the Channel

Fri, 06/16/2017 - 9:07am

Mysterious and incredibly brief, red sprites are Mysterious and incredibly brief, red sprites are


M89: Elliptical Galaxy with Outer Shells and Plumes

Thu, 06/15/2017 - 9:07am

Can you see them? Can you see them?


The Great Nebula in Carina

Wed, 06/14/2017 - 9:07am

In one of the brightest parts of In one of the brightest parts of


An Unusual Hole in Mars

Tue, 06/13/2017 - 9:07am

What created this unusual hole in Mars? What created this unusual hole in Mars?


IC 418: The Spirograph Nebula

Mon, 06/12/2017 - 9:07am

What is creating the strange texture of IC 418?  What is creating the strange texture of IC 418?


Saturn in the Milky Way

Sun, 06/11/2017 - 9:07am

Saturn in the Milky Way Saturn in the Milky Way


M27 Not a Comet

Sat, 06/10/2017 - 9:07am

While hunting for comets in the skies above 18th century France, While hunting for comets in the skies above 18th century France,


Firefall by Moonlight

Fri, 06/09/2017 - 9:07am

On certain dates in February, an elusive firefall On certain dates in February, an elusive firefall


Orbiting Jupiter

Thu, 06/08/2017 - 9:07am

What would it be like to orbit Jupiter? What would it be like to orbit Jupiter?


The Case of the Missing Star

Wed, 06/07/2017 - 9:07am

What's happened to giant star N6946-BH1? What's happened to giant star N6946-BH1?


Highlights of the Summer Sky

Tue, 06/06/2017 - 9:07am

Highlights of the Summer Sky  Highlights of the Summer Sky


Orion: Belt, Flame, and Horsehead

Mon, 06/05/2017 - 9:07am

What surrounds the famous belt stars of Orion? What surrounds the famous belt stars of Orion?


Pages