APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 3 hours 58 min ago

Mt. Etna Lava Plume

3 hours 58 min ago

Mt. Etna Lava Plume   Mt. Etna Lava Plume


A Split Ion Tail for Comet Lovejoy E4

Wed, 04/26/2017 - 9:07am

What's happened to Comet Lovejoy? What's happened to Comet Lovejoy?


A White Battle in the Black Sea

Tue, 04/25/2017 - 9:07am

Trillions have died in the Earth's seas. Trillions have died in the Earth's seas.


The Holographic Principle

Mon, 04/24/2017 - 9:07am

Is this picture worth a thousand words?  Is this picture worth a thousand words?


Between the Rings

Sun, 04/23/2017 - 9:07am

Between the Rings Between the Rings


NGC 4302 and NGC 4298

Sat, 04/22/2017 - 9:07am

NGC 4302 and NGC 4298 NGC 4302 and NGC 4298


Asteroid 2014 JO25

Fri, 04/21/2017 - 9:07am

A day before its closest approach, asteroid 2014 JO25 A day before its closest approach, asteroid 2014 JO25


The Red Spider Planetary Nebula

Thu, 04/20/2017 - 9:07am

Oh what a Oh what a


Night Glows

Wed, 04/19/2017 - 9:07am

What glows in the night? What glows in the night?


Two Million Stars on the Move

Tue, 04/18/2017 - 9:07am

If you could watch the night sky for one million years -- how would it change? If you could watch the night sky for one million years -- how would it change?


Life Enabling Plumes above Enceladus

Mon, 04/17/2017 - 9:07am

Life Enabling Plumes above Enceladus  Life Enabling Plumes above Enceladus


Luminous Salar de Uyuni

Sun, 04/16/2017 - 9:07am

A scene in high contrast this thoughtful night skyscape is A scene in high contrast this thoughtful night skyscape is


Earth Shadow over Damavand

Sat, 04/15/2017 - 9:07am

Through crystal clear skies this beautiful panorama follows the curve of Through crystal clear skies this beautiful panorama follows the curve of


Moons and Jupiter

Fri, 04/14/2017 - 9:07am

On April 10, a Full Moon and Jupiter shared this telephoto field of view. On April 10, a Full Moon and Jupiter shared this telephoto field of view.


Leo Trio

Thu, 04/13/2017 - 9:07am

This group is popular in the northern spring. This group is popular in the northern spring.


Man, Dog, Sun

Wed, 04/12/2017 - 9:07am

This was supposed to be a shot of trees in front of a setting Sun. This was supposed to be a shot of trees in front of a setting Sun.


Galaxy Cluster Gas Creates Hole in Microwave Background

Tue, 04/11/2017 - 9:07am

Why would this cluster of galaxy punch a hole in the cosmic microwave background (CMB)? Why would this cluster of galaxy punch a hole in the cosmic microwave background (CMB)?


Comet Hale Bopp Over Val Parola Pass

Mon, 04/10/2017 - 9:07am

Comet Hale Bopp Over Val Parola Pass Comet Hale Bopp Over Val Parola Pass


Zeta Oph: Runaway Star

Sun, 04/09/2017 - 9:07am

Like a ship plowing through cosmic seas, Like a ship plowing through cosmic seas,


Castle Eye View

Sat, 04/08/2017 - 9:07am

The best known asterism in northern skies, The Big Dipper is The best known asterism in northern skies, The Big Dipper is


Pages