APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 6 hours 30 min ago

Gigantic Jet Lightning over China

6 hours 30 min ago

That's That's


Tutulemma: Solar Eclipse Analemma

Tue, 08/23/2016 - 9:07am

If you went outside at exactly the same time every day and took a If you went outside at exactly the same time every day and took a


Map of Total Solar Eclipse Path in 2017 August

Mon, 08/22/2016 - 9:07am

Would you like to see a total eclipse of the Sun? Would you like to see a total eclipse of the Sun?


Gamma rays and Comet Dust

Sun, 08/21/2016 - 9:07am

Gamma rays and Comet Dust Gamma rays and Comet Dust


Perseid Fireball at Sunset Crater

Sat, 08/20/2016 - 9:07am

Perseid Fireball at Sunset Crater Perseid Fireball at Sunset Crater


Perseid Night at Yosemite

Fri, 08/19/2016 - 9:07am

The 2016 Perseid meteor shower The 2016 Perseid meteor shower


Meteor before Galaxy

Thu, 08/18/2016 - 9:07am

What's that green streak in front of the Andromeda galaxy? What's that green streak in front of the Andromeda galaxy?


Five Planets and the Moon over Australia

Wed, 08/17/2016 - 9:07am

It is not a coincidence that planets line up. It is not a coincidence that planets line up.


Human as Spaceship

Tue, 08/16/2016 - 9:07am

You are a spaceship soaring through the universe. You are a spaceship soaring through the universe.


The Keyhole in the Carina Nebula

Mon, 08/15/2016 - 9:07am

The dark dusty Keyhole Nebula gets its name from its unusual shape. The dark dusty Keyhole Nebula gets its name from its unusual shape.


Perseid from Torralba del Burgo

Sun, 08/14/2016 - 9:07am

Perseid meteors rained on Perseid meteors rained on


The Easterbunny Comes to NGC 4725

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 9:07am

At first called "Easterbunny" by its discovery team,


Perseid, Aurora, and Noctilucent Clouds

Fri, 08/12/2016 - 9:07am

Perseid, Aurora, and Noctilucent Clouds Perseid, Aurora, and Noctilucent Clouds


Colliding Galaxies in Stephans Quintet

Thu, 08/11/2016 - 9:07am

Will either of these galaxies survive? Will either of these galaxies survive?


Mars at Closest Approach 2016

Wed, 08/10/2016 - 9:07am

When does Mars appear the largest? When does Mars appear the largest?


Perseid Meteors over Mount Shasta

Tue, 08/09/2016 - 9:07am

Where are all of these meteors coming from?  Where are all of these meteors coming from?


Io: Moon over Jupiter

Mon, 08/08/2016 - 9:07am

 Moon over Jupiter Io: Moon over Jupiter


Las Campanas Moon and Mercury

Sun, 08/07/2016 - 9:07am

Last Thursday the view toward sunset from the 2.5 kilometer summit of Last Thursday the view toward sunset from the 2.5 kilometer summit of


Apollo 15 Panorama

Sat, 08/06/2016 - 9:07am

Apollo 15 Panorama Apollo 15 Panorama


M63: Sunflower Galaxy Wide Field

Fri, 08/05/2016 - 9:07am

The Sunflower Galaxy blooms near the center of this The Sunflower Galaxy blooms near the center of this


Pages