Don't miss the meeting, coming up this week!

Friday, 9 December 2016 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Kevin Gallagher's house

APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 21 hours 46 min ago

Aurora over Jupiters South Pole from Juno

Wed, 12/07/2016 - 9:07am

Why is there a glowing oval over Jupiter's South Pole? Why is there a glowing oval over Jupiter's South Pole?


Lightning over Colorado

Tue, 12/06/2016 - 9:07am

Have you ever watched a lightning storm in awe?  Have you ever watched a lightning storm in awe?


Official Star Names for Orion

Mon, 12/05/2016 - 9:07am

Familiar stars in Orion and constellations across the sky now have official names. Familiar stars in Orion and constellations across the sky now have official names.


Galaxies in Pegasus

Sun, 12/04/2016 - 9:07am

Galaxies in Pegasus Galaxies in Pegasus


A Triple Star is Born

Sat, 12/03/2016 - 9:07am

A triple star system is forming, enshrouded within this dusty natal disk A triple star system is forming, enshrouded within this dusty natal disk


Flaming Star Nebula

Fri, 12/02/2016 - 9:07am

Flaming Star Nebula Flaming Star Nebula


Milky Way over Shipwreck

Thu, 12/01/2016 - 9:07am

What happened to this ship? What happened to this ship?


W5: The Soul of Star Formation

Wed, 11/30/2016 - 9:07am

Where do stars form? Where do stars form?


Arp 240: A Bridge between Spiral Galaxies from Hubble

Tue, 11/29/2016 - 9:07am

Why is there a bridge between these two spiral galaxies? Why is there a bridge between these two spiral galaxies?


Verona Rupes: Tallest Known Cliff in the Solar System

Mon, 11/28/2016 - 9:07am

Could you survive a jump off the tallest cliff in the Solar System? Could you survive a jump off the tallest cliff in the Solar System?


East to West, Light and Shadow

Sun, 11/27/2016 - 9:07am

On this November morning an old crescent Moon and morning star On this November morning an old crescent Moon and morning star


Apollo 17 VIP Site Anaglyph

Sat, 11/26/2016 - 9:07am

Get out your red/blue glasses Get out your red/blue glasses


Ring Scan

Fri, 11/25/2016 - 9:07am

Ring Scan Ring Scan


NGC 7635: Bubble in a Cosmic Sea

Thu, 11/24/2016 - 9:07am

Do you see the bubble in the center? Do you see the bubble in the center?


Plutos Sputnik Planum

Wed, 11/23/2016 - 9:07am

Is there an ocean below Sputnik Planum on Pluto? Is there an ocean below Sputnik Planum on Pluto?


Nova over Thailand

Tue, 11/22/2016 - 9:07am

A nova in Sagittarius is bright enough to see with binoculars. A nova in Sagittarius is bright enough to see with binoculars.


NGC 4414: A Flocculent Spiral Galaxy

Mon, 11/21/2016 - 9:07am

How much mass do flocculent spirals hide?  How much mass do flocculent spirals hide?


IC 5070: A Dusty Pelican in the Swan

Sun, 11/20/2016 - 9:07am

The recognizable profile of the Pelican Nebula The recognizable profile of the Pelican Nebula


Philadelphia Perigee Full Moon

Sat, 11/19/2016 - 9:07am

Philadelphia Perigee Full Moon Philadelphia Perigee Full Moon


Soyuz vs Supermoon

Fri, 11/18/2016 - 9:07am

Soyuz vs Supermoon Soyuz vs Supermoon


Pages