APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 2 hours 25 min ago

Jupiters Europa from Spacecraft Galileo

2 hours 25 min ago

What mysteries might be solved by peering into this crystal ball? What mysteries might be solved by peering into this crystal ball?


Gaia: Here Comes the Sun

Tue, 09/27/2016 - 9:07am

What would it look like to return home from outside our galaxy? What would it look like to return home from outside our galaxy?


Saturn from Above

Mon, 09/26/2016 - 9:07am

This image of Saturn could not have been taken from Earth. This image of Saturn could not have been taken from Earth.


Heart and Soul and Double Cluster

Sun, 09/25/2016 - 9:07am

Heart and Soul and Double Cluster Heart and Soul and Double Cluster


Harvest Moon Eclipse

Sat, 09/24/2016 - 9:07am

Harvest Moon Eclipse Harvest Moon Eclipse


Sunset at Edmontonhenge

Fri, 09/23/2016 - 9:07am

On September 18, the setting Sun illuminated both sides of the On September 18, the setting Sun illuminated both sides of the


Zooming in on Star Cluster Terzan 5

Thu, 09/22/2016 - 9:07am

Zooming in on Star Cluster Terzan 5  Zooming in on Star Cluster Terzan 5


The Helix Nebula in Infrared

Wed, 09/21/2016 - 9:07am

What makes this cosmic What makes this cosmic


50000 Kilometers over the Sun

Tue, 09/20/2016 - 9:07am

What's happening at the edge of the Sun? What's happening at the edge of the Sun?


Starry Night Scavenger Hunt

Mon, 09/19/2016 - 9:07am

Did you know that Did you know that


M33: Triangulum Galaxy

Sun, 09/18/2016 - 9:07am

The small, northern constellation The small, northern constellation


Full Moon over Brno

Sat, 09/17/2016 - 9:07am

Full Moon over Brno Full Moon over Brno


Retrograde Mars and Saturn

Fri, 09/16/2016 - 9:07am

Retrograde Mars and Saturn Retrograde Mars and Saturn


The North and South of Jupiter

Thu, 09/15/2016 - 9:07am

The North and South of Jupiter The North and South of Jupiter


NGC 1672: Barred Spiral Galaxy from Hubble

Wed, 09/14/2016 - 9:07am

Many spiral galaxies have bars across their centers.  Many spiral galaxies have bars across their centers.


Philae Lander Found on Comet 67P

Tue, 09/13/2016 - 9:07am

A little spacecraft that was presumed lost has now been found. A little spacecraft that was presumed lost has now been found.


All the Water on Planet Earth

Mon, 09/12/2016 - 9:07am

How much of planet Earth is made of water? How much of planet Earth is made of water?


The Launch of OSIRIS REx

Sun, 09/11/2016 - 9:07am

Near sunset on Thursday, clear skies saw the Near sunset on Thursday, clear skies saw the


The Wide and Deep Lagoon

Sat, 09/10/2016 - 9:07am

Ridges of glowing interstellar gas and Ridges of glowing interstellar gas and


Mars in the Clouds

Fri, 09/09/2016 - 9:07am

Wandering through this stunning field of view, Wandering through this stunning field of view,


Pages