APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 2 hours 18 min ago

Eta Carinae and the Expanding Homunculus Nebula

Mon, 12/08/2014 - 04:42

How did the Eta Carinae star system create this unusual expanding nebula? How did the Eta Carinae star system create this unusual expanding nebula?


Stars and Dust Pillars in NGC 7822 from WISE

Sun, 12/07/2014 - 07:42

Hot, young stars and cosmic pillars of gas and dust Hot, young stars and cosmic pillars of gas and dust


The Seahorse of the Large Magellanic Cloud

Sat, 12/06/2014 - 04:42

It may look like a grazing It may look like a grazing


3D 67P

Fri, 12/05/2014 - 07:42

Get out your red/blue glasses and float next to a comet! Get out your red/blue glasses and float next to a comet!


Portrait of NGC 281

Thu, 12/04/2014 - 03:42

Look through the cosmic cloud cataloged as NGC 281 Look through the cosmic cloud cataloged as NGC 281


Galileo's Europa Remastered

Wed, 12/03/2014 - 00:42

Looping through the Jovian system in the late 1990s, the Looping through the Jovian system in the late 1990s, the


Io and Callisto Mutual Event

Tue, 12/02/2014 - 03:42

A 24 minute sequence from top to bottom, A 24 minute sequence from top to bottom,


The Creature from the Red Lagoon

Mon, 12/01/2014 - 07:42

The Creature from the Red Lagoon   The Creature from the Red Lagoon


Soaring over Titan

Sun, 11/30/2014 - 03:42

What would it look like to fly over Titan? What would it look like to fly over Titan?


Tornado and Rainbow Over Kansas

Sat, 11/29/2014 - 07:42

The scene might have The scene might have


Solar Flare from a Sharper Sun

Fri, 11/28/2014 - 03:42

Solar Flare from a Sharper Sun Solar Flare from a Sharper Sun


M1: The Crab Nebula

Thu, 11/27/2014 - 00:42

The Crab Nebula is cataloged as M1, the first object on The Crab Nebula is cataloged as M1, the first object on


LDN 988: Dark Nebula in Cygnus

Wed, 11/26/2014 - 03:42

Obscuring the rich starfields of northern Cygnus, dark nebula LDN 988 Obscuring the rich starfields of northern Cygnus, dark nebula LDN 988


Bright Spiral Galaxy M81

Tue, 11/25/2014 - 06:42

One of the brightest galaxies in planet Earth's sky is similar in size One of the brightest galaxies in planet Earth's sky is similar in size


Star Formation in the Tadpole Nebula

Mon, 11/24/2014 - 02:42

Dusty emission in the Tadpole nebula, IC 410, Dusty emission in the Tadpole nebula, IC 410,


The Double Dust Disks of HD 95086

Sun, 11/23/2014 - 05:42

What do other star systems look like? What do other star systems look like?


Leonids Above Torre de la Guaita

Sat, 11/22/2014 - 02:42

Leonids Meteor Shower came to an impressive crescendo in 1999. Leonids Meteor Shower came to an impressive crescendo in 1999.


The Tulip in the Swan

Fri, 11/21/2014 - 06:42

Framing a bright emission region Framing a bright emission region


Welcome to a Comet

Thu, 11/20/2014 - 02:42

Welcome to a Comet Welcome to a Comet


Descent to a Comet

Wed, 11/19/2014 - 07:42

Yesterday, the Yesterday, the