APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 19 hours 40 min ago

NGC 4631: The Whale Galaxy

Sat, 06/04/2016 - 9:07am

 The Whale Galaxy NGC 4631: The Whale Galaxy


Three Planets from Pic du Midi

Fri, 06/03/2016 - 9:07am

Three Planets from Pic du Midi Three Planets from Pic du Midi


Tychos Supernova Remnant Expands

Thu, 06/02/2016 - 9:07am

What star created this huge expanding puffball?  What star created this huge expanding puffball?


Stars and Gas of the Running Chicken Nebula

Wed, 06/01/2016 - 9:07am

To some, it looks like a To some, it looks like a


Galaxy Evolution Tracking Animation

Tue, 05/31/2016 - 9:07am

How did the universe evolve from such a smooth beginning? How did the universe evolve from such a smooth beginning?


Valles Marineris: The Grand Canyon of Mars

Mon, 05/30/2016 - 9:07am

Mars will look good in Earth's skies over the next few days -- but not this good. Mars will look good in Earth's skies over the next few days -- but not this good.


Cat s Eye Wide and Deep

Sun, 05/29/2016 - 9:07am

Cat s Eye Wide and Deep Cat s Eye Wide and Deep


The Great Carina Nebula

Sat, 05/28/2016 - 9:07am

A jewel of the southern sky, the A jewel of the southern sky, the


IC 5067 in the Pelican Nebula

Fri, 05/27/2016 - 9:07am

The prominent ridge of emission featured in The prominent ridge of emission featured in


NGC 5078 and Friends

Thu, 05/26/2016 - 9:07am

This sharp telescopic This sharp telescopic


Milky Way Over the Spanish Peaks

Wed, 05/25/2016 - 9:07am

That's not lightning, and it did not strike between those mountains. That's not lightning, and it did not strike between those mountains.


Inside a Daya Bay Antineutrino Detector

Tue, 05/24/2016 - 9:07am

Why is there more matter than antimatter in the Universe? Why is there more matter than antimatter in the Universe?


LL Orionis: When Cosmic Winds Collide

Mon, 05/23/2016 - 9:07am

What created this great arc in space? What created this great arc in space?


Milky Way and Planets Near Opposition

Sun, 05/22/2016 - 9:07am

In this early May night skyscape, In this early May night skyscape,


3D Mercury Transit

Sat, 05/21/2016 - 9:07am

On May 9, innermost planet On May 9, innermost planet


The Surface of Europa

Fri, 05/20/2016 - 9:07am

The Surface of Europa The Surface of Europa


Halo from Atacama

Thu, 05/19/2016 - 9:07am

Influenced by the strong Pacific Influenced by the strong Pacific


The Orion Nebula in Visible and Infrared

Wed, 05/18/2016 - 9:07am

The Great Nebula in Orion is a colorful place. The Great Nebula in Orion is a colorful place.


Clouds of the Carina Nebula

Tue, 05/17/2016 - 9:07am

What forms lurk in the mists of the Carina Nebula? What forms lurk in the mists of the Carina Nebula?


Milky Way Over Quiver Tree Forest

Mon, 05/16/2016 - 9:07am

In front of a famous background of stars and galaxies lies some of Earth's more unusual trees. In front of a famous background of stars and galaxies lies some of Earth's more unusual trees.


Pages