APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 5 hours 44 min ago

Milky Way and Exploding Meteor

Tue, 08/18/2015 - 06:42

Tonight the Tonight the


A Blue Moon Halo over Antarctica

Mon, 08/17/2015 - 02:42

Have you ever seen a halo around the Moon? Have you ever seen a halo around the Moon?


A Sagittarius Triplet

Sun, 08/16/2015 - 05:42

These three bright nebulae are often These three bright nebulae are often


HCG 87: A Small Group of Galaxies

Sat, 08/15/2015 - 01:42

Sometimes galaxies form groups.  Sometimes galaxies form groups.


Curiosity's View

Fri, 08/14/2015 - 04:42

By planet Earth's calendar, the Curiosity Mars Rover reached its 3rd By planet Earth's calendar, the Curiosity Mars Rover reached its 3rd


Full Earth, Full Moon

Thu, 08/13/2015 - 07:42

Full Earth, Full Moon Full Earth, Full Moon


Stereo Pluto

Wed, 08/12/2015 - 04:42

These two detailed, true color images of Pluto were These two detailed, true color images of Pluto were


X ray Echoes from Circinus X 1

Tue, 08/11/2015 - 00:42

Circinus X-1 is an X-ray binary star known for its erratic Circinus X-1 is an X-ray binary star known for its erratic


Virgo Cluster Galaxies

Mon, 08/10/2015 - 03:42

Well over a thousand galaxies are known members of Well over a thousand galaxies are known members of


A Proton Arc Over Lake Superior

Sun, 08/09/2015 - 06:42

The setting had been picked out -- all that was needed was an aurora. The setting had been picked out -- all that was needed was an aurora.


Apollo 17 at Shorty Crater

Sat, 08/08/2015 - 02:42

On the Moon, it is easy to remember where you parked. On the Moon, it is easy to remember where you parked.


Stripping ESO 137-001

Fri, 08/07/2015 - 05:42

Stripping ESO 137-001 Stripping ESO 137-001


The ISS and a Colorful Moon

Thu, 08/06/2015 - 02:42

Tonight's Full Moon, the second Full Moon in July, could be Tonight's Full Moon, the second Full Moon in July, could be


Milky Way over Uluru

Wed, 08/05/2015 - 05:42

The central regions of our Milky Way Galaxy rise above The central regions of our Milky Way Galaxy rise above


The Deep Lagoon

Tue, 08/04/2015 - 02:42

Ridges of glowing interstellar gas and dark dust clouds Ridges of glowing interstellar gas and dark dust clouds


Rainbows and Rays over Bryce Canyon

Mon, 08/03/2015 - 05:42

What's happening over Bryce Canyon? What's happening over Bryce Canyon?


Milky Way and Aurora over Antarctica

Sun, 08/02/2015 - 01:42

It has been one of the better skies of this long night. It has been one of the better skies of this long night.


The Sombrero Galaxy from Hubble

Sat, 08/01/2015 - 04:42

Why does the Sombrero Galaxy look like a hat?  Why does the Sombrero Galaxy look like a hat?


Infrared Trifid

Fri, 07/31/2015 - 01:42

The Trifid Nebula, The Trifid Nebula,


Ultraviolet Rings of M31

Thu, 07/30/2015 - 04:42

A mere 2.5 million light-years away the Andromeda Galaxy, also A mere 2.5 million light-years away the Andromeda Galaxy, also