APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 2 hours 56 min ago

Suiting Up for the Moon

Tue, 04/07/2015 - 00:42

How will cows survive on the Moon? How will cows survive on the Moon?


Corona from Svalbard

Mon, 04/06/2015 - 04:42

Corona from Svalbard Corona from Svalbard


A Flag Shaped Aurora over Sweden

Sun, 04/05/2015 - 00:42

It appeared, momentarily, like a 50-km tall banded flag. It appeared, momentarily, like a 50-km tall banded flag.


Shadow of a Martian Robot

Sat, 04/04/2015 - 03:42

What if you saw your shadow on Mars and it wasn't What if you saw your shadow on Mars and it wasn't


Diamond Rings and Baily's Beads

Fri, 04/03/2015 - 06:42

Near the March 20 equinox the cold clear sky over Longyearbyen, Near the March 20 equinox the cold clear sky over Longyearbyen,


NGC 2403 in Camelopardalis

Thu, 04/02/2015 - 02:42

Magnificent island universe Magnificent island universe


Orion Spring

Wed, 04/01/2015 - 00:42

As spring comes to planet Earth's northern hemisphere, familiar winter As spring comes to planet Earth's northern hemisphere, familiar winter


Naked Eye Nova Sagittarii 2015 No 2

Tue, 03/31/2015 - 04:42

It quickly went from obscurity to one of the brighter stars in Sagittarius -- but it's fading. It quickly went from obscurity to one of the brighter stars in Sagittarius -- but it's fading.


Powers of Ten

Mon, 03/30/2015 - 00:42

How different does the universe look on small, medium, and large scales?  How different does the universe look on small, medium, and large scales?


Atlas V Launches MMS

Sun, 03/29/2015 - 03:42

Atlas V Launches MMS Atlas V Launches MMS


A Double Eclipse of the Sun

Sat, 03/28/2015 - 00:42

Can the Sun be eclipsed twice at the same time? Can the Sun be eclipsed twice at the same time?


Northern Equinox Eclipse

Fri, 03/27/2015 - 04:42

Snowy and cold is weather you might expect at the start of Snowy and cold is weather you might expect at the start of


Sunshine, Earthshine

Thu, 03/26/2015 - 02:42

Sunshine, Earthshine Sunshine, Earthshine


Aurora in the Backyard

Wed, 03/25/2015 - 06:42

On the night of On the night of


Earth During a Total Eclipse of the Sun

Tue, 03/24/2015 - 02:42

What does the Earth look like during a total solar eclipse? What does the Earth look like during a total solar eclipse?


The Big Dipper Enhanced

Mon, 03/23/2015 - 05:42

Do you see it?  Do you see it?


The Clouds of Orion the Hunter

Sun, 03/22/2015 - 01:42

Cradled in cosmic dust and glowing hydrogen, Cradled in cosmic dust and glowing hydrogen,


A Total Eclipse at the End of the World

Sat, 03/21/2015 - 05:42

Would you go to the end of the world to see a total eclipse of the Sun? Would you go to the end of the world to see a total eclipse of the Sun?


Return at Sunrise

Fri, 03/20/2015 - 02:42

Thursday, shortly after local sunrise over central Asia, Thursday, shortly after local sunrise over central Asia,


The Great Wall by Moonlight

Thu, 03/19/2015 - 05:42

Last Friday, an almost Last Friday, an almost