APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 1 hour 53 min ago

Messier 20 and 21

Wed, 09/03/2014 - 01:42

Messier 20 and 21 Messier 20 and 21


Milky Way over Yellowstone

Tue, 09/02/2014 - 05:42

The Milky Way was not created by an evaporating lake. The Milky Way was not created by an evaporating lake.


Flying Past Neptune's Moon Triton

Mon, 09/01/2014 - 02:42

What would it look like to fly past Triton, the largest moon of planet Neptune? What would it look like to fly past Triton, the largest moon of planet Neptune?


Arp 188 and the Tadpole's Tail

Sun, 08/31/2014 - 05:42

Why does this galaxy have such a long tail?   Why does this galaxy have such a long tail?


Mercury's Transit: An Unusual Spot on the Sun

Sat, 08/30/2014 - 02:42

What's that dot on the Sun? What's that dot on the Sun?


The Spectre of Veszprem

Fri, 08/29/2014 - 00:42

The city of Veszprem, Hungary was only briefly haunted by The city of Veszprem, Hungary was only briefly haunted by


Comet Jacques, Heart and Soul

Thu, 08/28/2014 - 03:42

On July 13th, a good place to watch On July 13th, a good place to watch


Venus and Jupiter at Dawn

Wed, 08/27/2014 - 00:42

On Monday morning, Venus and Jupiter gathered close in On Monday morning, Venus and Jupiter gathered close in


In the Center of the Lagoon Nebula

Tue, 08/26/2014 - 03:42

The center of the Lagoon Nebula is a The center of the Lagoon Nebula is a


Contrasting Terrains on Comet Churyumov Gerasimenko

Mon, 08/25/2014 - 06:42

Contrasting Terrains on Comet Churyumov Gerasimenko    Contrasting Terrains on Comet Churyumov Gerasimenko


Star Trails Over Indonesia

Sun, 08/24/2014 - 02:42

Both land and sky were restless. Both land and sky were restless.


Jupiter and Venus from Earth

Sat, 08/23/2014 - 05:42

It was visible around the world. It was visible around the world.


No X rays from SN 2014J

Fri, 08/22/2014 - 01:42

Last January, telescopes in observatories around planet Earth Last January, telescopes in observatories around planet Earth


Perseid in Moonlight

Thu, 08/21/2014 - 04:42

Bright moonlight from a Bright moonlight from a


Surreal Moon

Wed, 08/20/2014 - 00:42

Big, bright, and beautiful, a Full Moon near perigee, Big, bright, and beautiful, a Full Moon near perigee,


Rings Around the Ring Nebula

Tue, 08/19/2014 - 03:42

It is a familiar sight to sky enthusiasts with even a small telescope. It is a familiar sight to sky enthusiasts with even a small telescope.


Collapse in Hebes Chasma on Mars

Mon, 08/18/2014 - 06:42

What's happened in Hebes Chasma on Mars? What's happened in Hebes Chasma on Mars?


Rosetta Approaches Comet Churyumov Gerasimenko

Sun, 08/17/2014 - 03:42

What does it look like to approach a comet? What does it look like to approach a comet?


A Perseid Below

Sat, 08/16/2014 - 07:42

Denizens of planet Earth typically watch meteor showers Denizens of planet Earth typically watch meteor showers


A Luminous Night

Fri, 08/15/2014 - 04:42

What shines in What shines in