APOD

Syndicate content APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 1 hour 32 min ago

Zodiacal Light before Dawn

Wed, 09/17/2014 - 06:42

You might not guess it, but sunrise was still hours away when You might not guess it, but sunrise was still hours away when


Laniakea: Our Home Supercluster of Galaxies

Tue, 09/16/2014 - 02:42

It is not only one of the largest structures known -- it is our home. It is not only one of the largest structures known -- it is our home.


An Aurora Cupcake with a Milky Way Topping

Mon, 09/15/2014 - 05:42

This sky looked delicious. This sky looked delicious.


Super Moon vs Micro Moon

Sun, 09/14/2014 - 01:42

What is so super about tomorrow's supermoon? What is so super about tomorrow's supermoon?


Full Moon Silhouettes

Sat, 09/13/2014 - 04:42

Have you ever watched the Moon rise? Have you ever watched the Moon rise?


Moonbow Beach

Fri, 09/12/2014 - 00:42

Moonbow Beach Moonbow Beach


A Sagittarius Starscape

Thu, 09/11/2014 - 04:42

This rich starscape spans nearly 7 degrees on the sky, toward the This rich starscape spans nearly 7 degrees on the sky, toward the


Cloud, Clusters and Comet Siding Spring

Wed, 09/10/2014 - 00:42

On October 19th, a good place to watch On October 19th, a good place to watch


M6: The Butterfly Cluster

Tue, 09/09/2014 - 03:42

 The Butterfly Cluster    M6: The Butterfly Cluster


Holometer: A Microscope into Space and Time

Mon, 09/08/2014 - 06:42

How different are space and time at very small scales? How different are space and time at very small scales?


Airglow Ripples over Tibet

Sun, 09/07/2014 - 02:42

Why would the sky look like a giant target? Why would the sky look like a giant target?


Space Shuttle and Space Station Photographed Together

Sat, 09/06/2014 - 06:42

How was this picture taken? How was this picture taken?


The Starry Sky under Hollow Hill

Fri, 09/05/2014 - 02:42

Look up in New Zealand's Hollow Hill Cave and you might think Look up in New Zealand's Hollow Hill Cave and you might think


The Wizard Nebula

Thu, 09/04/2014 - 05:42

Open star cluster NGC 7380 is still embedded in Open star cluster NGC 7380 is still embedded in


Messier 20 and 21

Wed, 09/03/2014 - 01:42

Messier 20 and 21 Messier 20 and 21


Milky Way over Yellowstone

Tue, 09/02/2014 - 05:42

The Milky Way was not created by an evaporating lake. The Milky Way was not created by an evaporating lake.


Flying Past Neptune's Moon Triton

Mon, 09/01/2014 - 02:42

What would it look like to fly past Triton, the largest moon of planet Neptune? What would it look like to fly past Triton, the largest moon of planet Neptune?


Arp 188 and the Tadpole's Tail

Sun, 08/31/2014 - 05:42

Why does this galaxy have such a long tail?   Why does this galaxy have such a long tail?


Mercury's Transit: An Unusual Spot on the Sun

Sat, 08/30/2014 - 02:42

What's that dot on the Sun? What's that dot on the Sun?


The Spectre of Veszprem

Fri, 08/29/2014 - 00:42

The city of Veszprem, Hungary was only briefly haunted by The city of Veszprem, Hungary was only briefly haunted by