APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 11 hours 16 min ago

Io over Jupiter from Voyager 1

Mon, 09/05/2016 - 9:07am

Back in 1979, NASA's Voyager 1 spacecraft flew past Jupiter and its moons. Back in 1979, NASA's Voyager 1 spacecraft flew past Jupiter and its moons.


Reunion Island Eclipse

Sun, 09/04/2016 - 9:07am

Reunion Island Eclipse Reunion Island Eclipse


Little Planet Astro Camp

Sat, 09/03/2016 - 9:07am

Little Planet Astro Camp Little Planet Astro Camp


Light at the End of the Road

Fri, 09/02/2016 - 9:07am

The bright light at the end of this country road is actually a remarkably The bright light at the end of this country road is actually a remarkably


Annular Solar Eclipse over New Mexico

Thu, 09/01/2016 - 9:07am

What is this person doing? What is this person doing?


Aurora over Icelandic Fault

Wed, 08/31/2016 - 9:07am

Admire the beauty but fear the beast. Admire the beauty but fear the beast.


Young Suns of NGC 7129

Tue, 08/30/2016 - 9:07am

Young suns still lie Young suns still lie


Abell 370: Galaxy Cluster Gravitational Lens

Mon, 08/29/2016 - 9:07am

What is that strange arc? What is that strange arc?


Lunar Orbiter Earthset

Sun, 08/28/2016 - 9:07am

Lunar Orbiter Earthset Lunar Orbiter Earthset


The Milky Way Sets

Sat, 08/27/2016 - 9:07am

The Milky Way Sets The Milky Way Sets


Closest Star has Potentially Habitable Planet

Fri, 08/26/2016 - 9:07am

The star closest to the Sun has a planet similar to the Earth. The star closest to the Sun has a planet similar to the Earth.


Curiosity at Murray Buttes on Mars

Thu, 08/25/2016 - 9:07am

What are these unusual lumps on Mars? What are these unusual lumps on Mars?


Gigantic Jet Lightning over China

Wed, 08/24/2016 - 9:07am

That's That's


Tutulemma: Solar Eclipse Analemma

Tue, 08/23/2016 - 9:07am

If you went outside at exactly the same time every day and took a If you went outside at exactly the same time every day and took a


Map of Total Solar Eclipse Path in 2017 August

Mon, 08/22/2016 - 9:07am

Would you like to see a total eclipse of the Sun? Would you like to see a total eclipse of the Sun?


Gamma rays and Comet Dust

Sun, 08/21/2016 - 9:07am

Gamma rays and Comet Dust Gamma rays and Comet Dust


Perseid Fireball at Sunset Crater

Sat, 08/20/2016 - 9:07am

Perseid Fireball at Sunset Crater Perseid Fireball at Sunset Crater


Perseid Night at Yosemite

Fri, 08/19/2016 - 9:07am

The 2016 Perseid meteor shower The 2016 Perseid meteor shower


Meteor before Galaxy

Thu, 08/18/2016 - 9:07am

What's that green streak in front of the Andromeda galaxy? What's that green streak in front of the Andromeda galaxy?


Five Planets and the Moon over Australia

Wed, 08/17/2016 - 9:07am

It is not a coincidence that planets line up. It is not a coincidence that planets line up.


Pages